And Jesus said to His disciples… 15 “If you love me, keep my commands. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. 18 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”  John 14:15-21- New International Version (NIV)

What a profound passage of scripture! Notice that Jesus connects loving Him with obeying His commandments. It is important for all sincere seekers of truth to understand that the “Spirit of Truth” (which is another name for the Holy Spirit) is a gift from our Heavenly Father. But it is a conditional gift that is given only to those who have surrender their lives to Christ and walk in loving obedience to Him.

Since the Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Truth,  He can not dwell inside people who are rebellious, disobedient, and willfully sinful.  That is why Jesus declares that “the world cannot accept Him (The Holy Spirit) because it neither sees Him nor knows Him.”

Right after that statement, Jesus declares that the Holy Spirit lives inside His disciples. The Spirit of Truth is a gift from God, bestowed on all sincere believers who love Jesus and  His commandments. Therefore, if we want to know God and abide in Him, we must surrender our “independence” and become yielded, obedient, and intimately connected to Jesus. But how do we do that? Is it possible to live a life of loving obedience to Christ?

To make things even more confusing, there are many spiritual “teachers” and “gurus” who claim that there are many other paths to obtain “oneness with God” (what many call “enlightenment”  or “nirvana”.)  However, Jesus Himself never said that there were other ways through which we could know our Heavenly Father. As a matter of fact, He made it clear that He was the only way to the Father.

In John 14:6 Jesus declares, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

There is no other way!  And this is not about Christians being narrow minded or radical.  Our re-conciliation with God is precisely what Jesus came to accomplish for us.   Think about it… if it was not necessary, Jesus would not have needed to come to earth and leave behind the perfection of Heaven to die such a horrible death! Jesus came to earth with one single  purpose….to save you and I.  He came to to show us the love of our Father and to die on a cross to pay the penalty for our sins, so we could understand How much God truly loves us.

Friend, if we could have reconciled with God by other methods, Jesus would have been either crazy or a liar! And that is impossible because He is God and the embodiment of truth and Love!

Please realize that there are no other path to God.

I can testify that no amount of yoga,  meditation, healthy foods or any and all spiritual practices – apart from Christ- can ever wash us clean from our sins. Only Jesus can. Be assured that if you put your trust in Him, He will forgive you and fill your life with Grace!

Please do not delay… if you want to know true love, get on your knees and ask Jesus to forgive you and be the Lord of your Life. Your Heavenly Father wants to Love you and give you the Holy Spirit today. It is a free and unconditional gift. But you must ask for it and receive.

Leave a Reply

